2018-05-16 / Front Page

General Primary next Tuesday


Burke County voters will determine who gets the District 5 seat for the Board of Education in the only contested local race in next Tuesday's General Primary.

Incumbent Johnny Jenkins was first elected to the board in 1978 and has held the position since. He is also one of the longest serving chairmen in the state of Georgia, having held the position for more than 30 years.

Robert L. Walden Jr. is challenging Jenkins for the board seat. Though a political newcomer, Walden is no stranger to the school system, having served as a volunteer within in the schools since 2005.

Other BOE seats that will appear on the nonpartisan ballot uncontested include District 1 and 2, held currently by Ruby Saxon Myles and Jackie Payton, respectively.

Burke County Board of Commissioners Terri Lodge Kelly (District 2) and Allen DeLaigle (District 4) qualified for re-election as did incumbent State Court Solicitor General Matthew Franklin. All three are also unopposed.

On the state level, several candidates are in the race for Georgia Governor. L.S. “Casey” Cagle, Eddie Hayes, Brian Kemp, Clay Tippins, Marc Urbach and Michael Williams all appear on the Republican ballot, while just two Democrats are seeking the job: Stacey Abrams and Stacey Evans.

Republicans vying for the Lt. Governor position include Geoff Duncan, Rick Jeffares and David Shafer, and Democrats in the running are Sarah Riggs Amico and Triana Arnold James.

The race for Secretary of State on the Republican ticket includes David Belle Isle, Buzz Brockway, Josh McKoon and Brad Raffensperger, and the Democratic ballot includes and John Barrow, Dee Dawkins- Haigler and Rakeim “RJ” Hadley.

Incumbent State Sen. Jesse Stone (R – District 23) is unopposed, and Rep. Gloria Frazier (incumbent, D – District 126) is unopposed in the primary but is being challenged by Republican William Harris in November.

Those in the running for the 12th Congressional District of Georgia on the Republican ticket are Rick W. Allen and Eugene Yu. Democrats seeking the job are Robert Ingham, Francys Johnson and Trent Nesmith.

Advance voting will continue through this Friday, May 18, from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. at the Burke County Board of Elections

Office located in the courthouse in Waynesboro.

To view sample ballots, including other races appearing in the General Primary, visit www.mvp.sos.ga.gov.

Return to top