2017-01-25 / News

Jenkins, DeLaigle to head up county boards

By Diana Royal

The Burke County Board of Commissioners and Board of Education have selected their leadership for the year.

Board members selected their leaders at their regular meetings held earlier this month.

While the BOE will continue under the same leadership, the county commission elected a new chairman to replace Wayne Crockett, who did not seek reelection. He had served as the commission chairman since 2009.

Taking the reigns is District 4 Commissioner Allen DeLaigle. DeLaigle, who was elected to the board of commissioners in 2009, had served as vice chair since 2013.

The commission decided to wait until a later date to select its new vice chairman.

Johnny Jenkins was once again tapped as BOE chairman, and Greg Chandler was chosen to continue serving as vice chair.

Jenkins, who was first elected to the BOE in 1978, is one of the longest serving chairmen in the state. He has held his leadership role for more than 30 years.

Both boards' regular meeting dates, which fall at the same time each month, will remain the same. Both meet on the second Tuesday of each month at 6 p.m. Commissioners hold their meetings on the second floor of the Burke County Courthouse, and the BOE meets at the Burke County Public Schools central office at 789 Burke Veterans Parkway in Waynesboro.

Return to top