2005-08-10 / News

Georgia Tint Law at a Glance

By Law: It is illegal for window tinting material to be applied to the rear, side and door windows of motor vehicles that does not allow for more than 32 percent of light transmission. Material or glazing that increases the level of light reflected to more than 20 percent is also illegal.

Penalty: misdemeanor traffic violation, fine up to $1,000 and/or up to 12 months in prison.

Testing: free at the Waynesboro Police Department at Council and Myrick streets

Exemptions: include, but not limited to, law enforcement vehicles, buses owned or leased by churches and non-profit, school buses, public transportation buses, limousines and vehicles in which the windows or windshield were tinted before factory delivery.

Other States: Arizona and Oklahoma have the most lenient tint laws at 25 percent. The strictest states are California, Delaware, Illinois, Iowa, Michigan, Missouri, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Dakota, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island and Vermont where tinting materials must allow at least 70 percent of light transmission.


Return to top